About FAIR

Board of Directors

Nancy Anthony
Ms. Anthony is President of Fernwood Advisors, Inc., an investment advisory firm. Her business career has been in investment management and tax planning and preparation. She has been active in several Boston area medical, social service and educational institutions including Children's Hospital, McLean Hospital and Massachusetts Historical Society and in local, state and national politics. She received a B.A. in Economics from Northwestern University, a Master of Science in Accountancy from DePaul University and a CPA at the University of Illinois.

Duane Austin
A graduate of Michigan State University and the University of Wisconsin, Duke Austin taught high school and coached basketball and football at his high school alma mater. A retired Colonel in the U.S. Army Reserves, Mr. Austin worked in public relations at the Federal Communications Commission and as Senior Spokesman for the Immigration and Naturalization Service until his retirement in 1995.

Sharon Barnes
Ms. Barnes is a businesswoman who owns and runs a company that restores and manages historic properties. For more than 20 years she was a vice president in charge of real estate investments for one of the nation's largest insurance companies. She is active in historic preservation and frequently testifies before landmark commissions. A founding Board member of FAIR, Ms. Barnes has also been active in population, environment and women's issues. She received her MBA from Columbia University.

Douglas E. Caton
Mr. Caton is the CEO of Management Services Corporation of Charlottesville, Virginia, a regional commercial real estate management, construction and development company. He is also Chairman of the Board of Guaranty Bank, a community bank in central Virginia, and a retired Major General in the United States Army Reserve. He is a graduate of the University of Virginia and the United States Army War College and received his Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Virginia School of Law.

Don Collins – Chairman
Mr. Collins was a senior level engineer manager in the computer industry and holds 55 patents. His research and development teams designed and supported production of over a million products installed worldwide. In his 35 year career in the tech industry, Mr. Collins witnessed abuse of the H1-B visa program to displace American workers for financial gain. He also serves on the board of directors for the International Services Assistance Fund. Mr. Collins is a graduate of Temple University and holds his Master of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from National Technological University.

James Dorcy
A 30-year veteran of the Immigration and Naturalization Service and Department of Justice, Jim served for fourteen years in the Border Patrol, where he was elected president of the National Border Patrol Union, and was frequently called upon to testify before House and Senate committee hearings on immigration issues. He further served the Justice Department in a variety of investigative roles. Since his retirement, Jim has been active in the International Police Association and has traveled widely examining immigration enforcement policies of other nations.

Sarah G. Epstein
Ms. Epstein is an art lecturer and volunteer. She serves on the boards of several non-profit organizations, including Pathfinder International, Planned Parenthood of Metropolitan Washington, Center for Development and Population Activities and The Population Institute. She has served as a volunteer for the Urban League and as an organizer for civil rights marches in Washington, D.C. She is a graduate of Oberlin College and Simmons School of Social Work.

Dale M. Herder, Ph.D.
Dr. Herder lectured and consulted in the United Arab Emirates, the Republic of Georgia, Germany, England, Italy, New Zealand, Taiwan, Japan, and Canada. He served as an enlisted man and commissioned officer at sea in the U.S. Navy and retired with the rank of Commander. A former Fulbright Fellow in West Germany, he earned his undergraduate and graduate degrees in history and English at Michigan State University. He has served as a high school principal, English professor, department chair, dean, academic vice president, and interim college president.

Frank Morris, Ph.D.
Dr. Morris has held a position in the U.S. State Department as well as served as the Executive Director of the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation. More recently, he served as the dean of graduate studies and research at Morgan State University. Dr. Morris received his undergraduate degree from Colgate University and he earned his MPA degree at Syracuse University. He earned a Ph.D. in political science from MIT.

Roy C. Porter
Mr. Porter has been a senior manager for process management at a large engineering and technical services company. He has been a Black Belt in the Six Sigma process improvement method and has experience in the CMMI process maturity framework, systems analysis and engineering, software development, and project management. He is a longtime supporter of numerous environmental and charitable organizations and joined FAIR in 1980. He is a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of William and Mary and has an MS degree from Stanford University.


National Board of Advisors


  • Hon. Louis Barletta
  • Gwat Bhattacharjie
  • Gerda Bikales
  • Hon. Brian Bilbray (Co-Chair)
  • J. Bayard Boyle, Jr.
  • Hugh Brien
  • John Brock
  • Frances Burke, Ph.D.
  • William W. Chip, Esq.
  • Pat Choate, Ph.D.
  • Donald Collins, Sr. (Co-Chair)
  • Clifford Colwell, M.D.
  • Thomas Connolly
  • Kevin Donaleski
  • Alfred P. Doyle, M.D.
  • Dino Drudi
  • Paul Egan
  • Bonnie Erbé
  • Don Feder
  • Robert Gillespie
  • Otis W. Graham, Jr., Ph.D.
  • Joseph R. Guzzardi
  • Robert E. Hannay
  • Hessie Harris
  • Lawrence E. Harrison
  • Diana Hull, Ph.D.
  • Glenn Jackson
  • Carol Joyal
  • Hon. Richard Lamm
  • Roy C. Lierman
  • Donald Mann
  • K.C. McAlpin
  • Joel McCleary
  • Scott McConnell
  • James G. McDonald, Esq.
  • Paul K. Nachman
  • Peter Nunez
  • Robert D. Park
  • Fred Pinkham, Ph.D.
  • Randy Pullen
  • Bruce S. Reid
  • Teela Roche
  • David P. Schippers, Esq.
  • Hon. Alan Simpson
  • John Philip Sousa, IV
  • John Tanton, M.D.
  • Alan N. Weeden
  • Hon. Curtin Winsor, Jr.