FAIR Action Alerts 


FAIR Action Alerts

Act now on a recent alert sent from FAIR.

RI: House Considering Driver's Licenses for Illegal Aliens

Feb 10, 2014  |  Permalink |   |  

Tomorrow, February 11, 2014, the House Committee on Judiciary will consider House Bill (HB) 7262, a bill that grants driver's licenses to illegal aliens!

Specifically, HB 7262 amends Rhode Island's driver's license and learner's permit statute to authorize the Division of Motor Vehicle (DMV) to provide a driving privilege license or driving privilege permit to any person who fails to provide the DMV with a Social Security Number or evidence that he or she is lawfully present in the United States.

Please contact members of the House Committee on Judiciary and tell them to oppose HB 7262. Click here for helpful talking points to use in your email.


Rhode Island House Judiciary Committee

Legislator

E-mail
Rep. Edith H. Ajello
Rep. Joseph S. Almeida rep-almeida@rilin.state.ri.us
Rep. Christopher R. Blazejewski rep-blazejewski@rilin.state.ri.us
Rep. Dennis M. Canario rep-canario@rilin.state.ri.us
Rep. Doreen Marie Costa rep-costa@rilin.state.ri.us
Rep. Robert E. Craven, Sr. rep-craven@rilin.state.ri.us
Rep. John J. DeSimone rep-desimone@rilin.state.ri.us
Rep. Donald J. Lally Jr. rep-lally@rilin.state.ri.us
Rep. Charlene Lima rep-lima@rilin.state.ri.us
Rep. Michael J. Marcello rep-marcello@rilin.state.ri.us
Rep. Peter F. Martin rep-martin@rilin.state.ri.us
Rep. K. Joseph Shekarchi rep-shekarchi@rilin.state.ri.us
Rep. Donna M. Walsh rep-walsh@rilin.state.ri.us

Tell them HB 7262 is terrible for Rhode Island because: 

• Granting Driver's Licenses to Illegal Aliens Poses National Security Risks
Unlike legal immigrants, illegal aliens are not subject to any background checks or face-to-face interviews to determine the existence of any national security threat that they might pose. HB 7262 helps these national security threats to assimilate into our communities.

• Granting Driver's Licenses to Illegal Aliens Encourages More Illegal Immigration
A driver's license is a state benefit. Providing public benefits to illegal aliens only rewards illegal behavior and invites further illegal immigration. Illegal immigration results in higher costs of living, reduced job availability, lower wages, higher crime rates, fiscal hardship on hospitals and substandard quality of care for residents. It also adds burdens on public services increasing their costs and diminishing their availability.

• Granting Driver's Licenses to Illegal Aliens Does Not Mean Safer Roads or More Insured Drivers
Granting driver's licenses to illegal aliens in no way guarantees safer roads or that illegal aliens will purchase auto insurance. New Mexico, who grants driver's licenses to illegal aliens, is also home to the nation's second highest percentage of uninsured drivers. There is no reason to think that illegal aliens, having disregarded so many other laws, would obey this one, nor have the cash available or incentive to acquire auto insurance. 

Please call or email the Members of the House Committee on Judiciary and urge them to oppose the bill!  Only with your help can we stop this bill. 

P.S. For more information on this bill or what you can do, contact Robert Najmulski, FAIR's Northern Field Representative.